Universität Bonn

Department of Economics / BonnEconLab

BonnEconLab: Laboratory for Experimental Economics

Founding Director

The Laboratory for Experimental Economics at the University of Bonn — BonnEconLab was founded in 1984 by Reinhard Selten (1930–2016). In the year 1994, Reinhard Selten was awarded, jointly with John C. Harsanyi and John F. Nash Jr., the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel for his contributions to the selection of equilibria in the theory of non-cooperative games.

Director

Prof. Armin Falk is the current Director of BonnEconLab. Armin Falk has received two ERC grants and was awarded the Gossen Prize of the Verein für Socialpolitk in 2008, the Leibniz Prize of the German Science Foundation (DFG) in 2009, and the Yrjö Jahnsson Award of the European Economic Association in 2011.

Reinhard Selten
Reinhard Selten © Uni Bonn/Volker Lannert
Armin Falk
Armin Falk © Uni Bonn/ECONtribute

History

The BonnEconLab, the oldest institution of its kind in Europe, has a very lively and successful history. It is a central service unit of the Department of Economics. Many researchers of the Department of Economics as well as students of the Bonn Graduate School of Economics (BGSE) conduct their experiments at the BonnEconLab. The BonnEconLab thereby plays an important role in the department’s research activities, and it contributes considerably to the education of the BGSE Ph.D. students as well as the department’s bachelor and master students.

The BonnEconLab is at the center of innovative research in experimental economics, as is documented by publications in top international journals and by considerable research funding (e.g., grants by the DFG and the EU). The research performed at BonnEconLab covers a wide range of topics, including

  • auctions and markets,
  • bargaining,
  • labor and health economics,
  • fairness and reciprocity,
  • team decision making ,
  • cross-cultural and intercultural experiments,
  • neuroeconomics.

Experimental economics is a method of creating empirical data in a controlled environment. Human subjects are given monetary incentives and make real decisions. Data are obtained in experimental sessions or in the field, with the controlled environment allowing for a more thorough analysis of subjects' behavior. Other methods of creating data – questionnaires, traditional field studies, or surveys – are additional information for analyzing behavior.

Mission

The BonnEconLab

  • supports the scientists of the Department of Economics in planning, designing and conducting their experiments,
  • is actively involved in teaching as an essential part of the bachelor, master and doctoral education (e.g., Bonn Graduate School of Economics—BGSE),
  • ensures successful experimental research, which is reflected in top international journals as well as in considerable third-party funding,
  • is a place of activity and host to a large number of renowned experimental economists,
  • is the starting point for the academic careers of numerous internationally renowned experimenters.

The BonnEconLab is thus at the center of innovative experimental economic research. Scientists who are committed to the rational-theoretical perspective work here, as do those who pursue boundedly rational research approaches.

At this point we would like to thank the German Science Foundation (DFG), the European Union, and the University of Bonn for their continuous support. Without their sponsorship, many important projects would not have been realized.

Wird geladen

Universität Bonn

FB Wirtschaftswissenschaften / BonnEconLab

BonnEconLab: Laboratorium für Experimentelle Wirtschaftsforschung            

Gründungsdirektor

Das Bonner Laboratorium für Experimentelle Wirtschafts­forschung – BonnEconLab wurde 1984 von Reinhard Selten (1930–2016) gegründet. Reinhard Selten wurde 1994 zusammen mit John C. Harsanyi und John F. Nash Jr. für seine Beiträge zur Bestimmung von Gleichgewichten in der Theorie nichtkooperativer Spiele mit dem Sveriges-Riksbank-Preis in Wirtschaftswissenschaften in Erinnerung an Alfred Nobel ausgezeichnet.

Direktor

Aktueller Direktor des BonnEconLab ist Professor Armin Falk. Armin Falk wurde u. a. im Jahr 2008 mit dem Hermann-Heinrich-Gossen-Preis des Vereins für Socialpolitik, 2009 mit dem Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz-Preis der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft und 2011 mit dem Yrjö Jahnsson Award der European Economic Association ausgezeichnet.

Reinhard Selten
Reinhard Selten © Uni Bonn/Volker Lannert
Armin Falk
Armin Falk © Uni Bonn/ECONtribute

Geschichte

Das BonnEconLab ist die älteste Einrichtung ihrer Art in Europa und blickt auf eine be­mer­kens­werte und erfolgreiche Geschichte zurück. Es ist eine Einrichtung der Rechts- und Staatswissenschaftlichen Fakultät und übernimmt Dienst­leistungs­aufgaben für den Fachbereich Wirtschaftswissenschaften, indem es die Wissen­schaftler bei Planung, Design und Durchführung ihrer Experimente unterstützt. Zudem ist das Labor in der Bachelor-, Master- und Doktoranden­ausbildung (u. a. Bonn Graduate School of Economics) aktiv in die Lehre eingebunden.

Das BonnEconLab ist Motor kontinuierlichen Fortschritts in der experimentellen Wirtschafts­forschung, der sich in Publikationen in internationalen Topjournalen und in der Einwerbung von beträchtlichen Drittmitteln (DFG und EU) niederschlägt. Unsere Forschung umfasst eine breite Palette von Bereichen wie

  • Auktionen und Märkte,
  • Verhandlungen,
  • Arbeits- und Gesundheitsökonomik,
  • Fairness und Reziprozität,
  • Gruppenentscheidungen,
  • interkulturelle Untersuchungen,
  • Neuroökonomik.

Die experimentelle Wirtschaftsforschung ist eine Methode, empirische Daten in einem kontrollierten Umfeld zu erzeugen. Dabei treffen Versuchspersonen reale Entscheidungen, die mit Geldanreizen ausgestattet sind. Die Daten werden in Experimentalsitzungen oder im Feld gewonnen, wobei die kontrollierte Datenerhebung eine bessere Verhaltensanalyse erlaubt. Andere Erhebungsmethoden – Fragebögen, traditionelle Feldstudien, Surveys – sind ergänzende Datenquellen der Verhaltensanalyse.

Aufgaben

Das BonnEconLab

  • unterstützt die Wissenschaftler des Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fachbereichs bei Planung, Design und Durchführung ihrer Experimente,
  • ist als wesentlicher Bestandteil der Bachelor-, Master- und Doktorandenausbildung (u. a. Bonn Graduate School of Economics – BGSE) aktiv in die Lehre eingebunden,
  • gewährleistet erfolgreiche experimentelle Forschung, die sich in internationalen Topjournalen sowie in beträchtlicher Drittmitteln niederschlägt,
  • ist Wirkungsstätte und Gastgeber einer großen Zahl renommierter experimenteller Ökonomen,
  • ist Ausgangspunkt für die akademische Karriere zahlreicher international bekannter Experimentatoren.

Das BonnEconLab bewegt sich somit im Mittelpunkt innovativer experimenteller ökonomischer Forschung. Hier arbeiten Wissenschaftler, die sich der rationaltheoretischen Sichtweise verbunden fühlen, wie solche, die eingeschränkt rationale Forschungsansätze verfolgen. 

Wir danken der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) und der Europäischen Union (EU) für großzügige Forschungsförderung sowie der Universität Bonn für kontinuierliche Unterstützung. Ohne diese Förderung wären die meisten Projekte nicht realisierbar gewesen.

Teilnahme an Experimenten

Wir sind fortwährend auf der Suche nach neuen Probandinnen und Probanden für die Teilnahme an Experimenten.

Wird geladen